RSS

A Few Quick Things

18 Jun

I haven’t posted in a while.  It’s not like I haven’t had time, I was just too lazy to do research for another interesting article you all have come to expect.  This post will probably not be one of those interesting articles, but I just wanted to write down a few things.

  1. The number of blog visits are up by a lot.  Thank you to everyone who has been visiting.  Seeing the number of page views go up over the last two weeks has really kept me in the game in terms of research (even though there are no new posts).
  2. I have a couple of big things coming up over the next week or so.  I’m going to the Digital Government Institute Cyber Security Conference and Expo at the Ronald Regan Building in D.C. on Wednesday.  I’ll be sure to take lots of notes and relay great information unto you via this blog.  The day after the expo, I’ll be getting my Wisdom Teeth out which should prove to be lots of fun.  I’ll probably crank out quite a few posts if I’m forced to be immobile for a few days.
  3. I’m looking for speakers for the upcoming Fall and Spring semesters to come speak to the Security and Risk Analysis Club.  If you are interested, please email me: sjs5196 {at} psu {dot} edu.  If you have experience in anything that I talk about on this blog, or anything to do with terrorism or infrastructure, you are a perfect candidate for speaking to us.  If you have something else you’d like to talk about, I’m open to suggestions.
  4. SRA Resources is going to be getting an overhaul by the end of the summer (hopefully).  The SRA Club is redesigning its website to reflect our growth and we hope to implement a more effective way of sharing the same information.  We plan to use Microsoft Sharepoint Services (and related product family) or organize the club webpage.  We will, hopefully, find a solution for the indexing and permanant storage of the info currently on SRA Resources  If you have suggestions, I’m all ears as we are still in the planning stages of developing this.
  5. Firefox 3 is now available!!  Mozilla saw over 8 million downloads of the new web browser during release day.  I am going to do a story on the new (and welcome) security features of Firefox Three.  I encourage you to download it.  I’ve been using it since Firefox 3 Release Candidate 3, and I have loved it.  Unfortunately, up until I got the final release, my blog, along with some other pages would not render correctly.  Now everything looks perfect!  So please, support the open source community and keep yourself safe with Firefox 3.  Download it here!
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 18, 2008 in General, Security

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “A Few Quick Things

  1. jadedrealist

    June 19, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Firefox 3 is the shit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
