RSS

The Switch Easy Rebel Touch for the iPod Touch (2G)

04 Dec

It’s been a long time since I last posted and I thought I might start posting again with a short review on a product I just got in the mail.  I purchased my iPod Touch (second generation) about two months ago when it debuted and have been searching for a suitable case ever since it got its first scratch.  Fortunately, the glass facade does not scratch easily but the aluminum backing scratches like a chicken.  I spent some time on forums and review sites and decided to bite the bullet and purchase a case.  I decided on the Rebel Touch from a company called Switch Easy.  You can find the product page here.  It took about a week to get to my house from the West Coast but it was definitely worth the wait.  The case shipped in a small blister pack (the type of packaging that will ruin your hands) inside a medium sized envelope via USPS.

In the package you get: the case, two screen protectors, a headphone adapter,  a docking station insert, a screen cleaner and a stand to hold up the iPod for easy viewing- all for $30.00.  After following the instructions for applying the screen protector, I decided to peel it off and not use it.  In reality, I didn’t like the tiny air bubbles between the screen and the plastic overlay, clearly a direct consequence of my application.  The instructions for putting the case on the iPod make the process seem daunting, but it really isn’t that bad.  The case is in two parts: a silicon underlay that sits next to the iPod and a hard plastic skeleton that holds the primary skin onto the device.  What results is an incredibly functional and well-fitting case.  It adds very little bulk or heft to the device, making it easily pocketable.  What sets the Rebel Touch case apart from its peers is that it slides easily into a pocket.  Those of you who have ever owned a traditional silicone skin/case knows that the normal person has a moderate to difficult time trying to insert or extract the device from a standard pants pocket.

Switch Easy includes a headphone adapter in case the headphones you use don’t fit the contours of the case quite right.  I have used simple Sony earbuds and large Bose can-style headphones and the plugs fit without the help of the adapter.  The included dock cover fits snugly and nulls most of the worries I had about foreign objects entering the dock port.  What’s even better about this case is that it provides perfect (and I believe improved) access to the volume rocker and the sleep/wake button.  I always found the volume rocker on the side of the device difficult to use and this case provides the perfect amount of tactile contact to use it without having to utilize both hands.  The sleep/wake button on the top of the device remains just as usable as before, which is always a good thing.  Some people have shared concern about quality control standards with this case and the sleep/wake button not being very accessible.  Apparently, those problems have been fixed and all cases that are now shipping are free of defects.  Switch Easy is working with affected customers to replace their defective cases.

If you have a iPod Touch, this is the case for you.  For around $30.00 shipped, you get the best case that I’ve ever come across.  If you have questions, leave them in the comments and I’ll get back to you.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2008 in Product/Service Review

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “The Switch Easy Rebel Touch for the iPod Touch (2G)

  1. rob andersen

    December 9, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    hey, just wondering, what color rebel touch you got, and which color you would recommend. cheers, rob

     
    • Steve S

      December 10, 2008 at 1:01 am

      Rob,
      I purchased the all black version. It is really sharp looking. I chose black since I figured the white version would show dirt easier. Any other dark color that they offer would probably look pretty cool, but coupled with the black surface of the device goes great with the black.

      Hope this helps,
      Steve

       
  2. rob andersen

    December 12, 2008 at 6:08 am

    thanks steve!

     
  3. phil

    December 17, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    hey i’m near atlanta, ga. how long do you think it would take to ship? its the 15th now and i want it here before christmas.

     
    • Steve S

      December 18, 2008 at 1:05 am

      Phil,

      Normally I would say that they could get it to you in 6 days, but since the USPS and shipping companies are incredibly busy during the holiday season, it may not happen.

      I would just give Switch Easy a call tomorrow and see if they can expedite your order or something.

      Steve

       
  4. rod

    December 26, 2008 at 1:59 am

    hi,
    i was just wondering if i could get this case shipped to my house if i live outisde of the US.
    Any help will be appreciated.

     
    • Steve S

      December 26, 2008 at 11:03 pm

      I’m not sure. I’d advise you to email Switcheasy and find out firsthand.

       
  5. Mustafa

    January 31, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    hi,
    i was wondering if this is as thin as the incase slider case. I have that currently and am wondering if this is worth the switch because i did pay 40$ for that after tax.

     
    • Steve S

      February 1, 2009 at 10:31 am

      Mustafa,

      I’m not sure how this case compares to the Incase Slider. I’ve never used the latter. You might want to see if they list dimensions for the case on the websites.

      Thanks for reading!

       
  6. Rob

    February 2, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hello,
    I’ve read of possible problems with this case affecting the sleep/wake button by making it unresponsive because it covers it. Do you have any experience in that regard.

    Thanks.

     
  7. myko

    March 22, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    i got a problem w/ my rebel touch..the rubber casing of it is been a mess.. when i put it out from my ipod touch.. the rubber case is been crack from the 4 end of the ipod.. because i think its to tight… i just bought it last dec 08.. do i have a warrnty on it?will it be replace?

     
    • Steve S

      March 23, 2009 at 12:46 am

      I don’t know the specifics about their warranty, I’d encourage you to get into contact with the company to find out what the deal is.

       
    • Frodo

      November 22, 2009 at 12:00 pm

      I have the NeoTouch and it has a year warranty. I ripped my silicon (it’s so thin) and even though i still had one left (they give you two) I contacted them and they sent me out a whole new one! They have great customer service in my experience. Hope I’m not reeeeeeeaaaalllly late to tell you. xD Probably am….

       

Leave a Reply

 
